Astronomy team

The very first edition of the International Astronomy Olympiad took palce in June 1996 in Moscow, Russia. Bulgaria has been part of it every year since 1998 and each year our competitors come back home with at least two medals. The participants in the Bulgarian national team are being chosen from the winners in the all four rounds of the National Astronomy Olympiad. Leaders of the team are docent Eva Bozhurova and Nikola Karavassilev.

 Stefan Ivanov and Boyko Borissov are not only gold medalists but first in the overall ranking. respectively - for 2015 and 2016. 

By this time, many of these talanted children from the national team are now professors in some of the world's best Astronomy centres. 

NSOTA supports the participation of the team in the International Astronomy and Astrophysics Olympiad as well.