Physics team

In 1967 Bulgaria, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary and Romania founded the International Physics Olympiad. Bulgaria has been part of it ever since then in all 47 of its editions. About 85 countries participate every year. Leader of the national team since 2000 has been docent Victor Ivanov. Since 2016, leader and, respectively, deputy leader, are Miroslav Abrashev and Neno Todorov

By 2019, our students have won 127 medals on the IPhO: 14 golden, 42 silver, 71 bronze ones and 61 honarable mentions. An incredible achievement is the very first place for Bulgaria and its competitor Ivan Ivanov back in 1983 on the XIV IPhO.

NSOTA supports the participation of the national team in the international competition Romanian Master of Physics as well.